Poem: No Time to Pray

I just want to share this beautiful poem by Fatma Muslima in 2010, I found on the web. It is thought provoking and should be a good reflection for us

I knelt to pray but not for long,
I had too much to do.
I had to hurry and get to work
For bills would soon be due.

So I knelt and said a hurried prayer,
And jumped up off my knees.
My Muslim duty was now done
My soul could rest at ease.

All day long I had no time
To spread a word of cheer.
No time to speak of Allah to friends,
They’d laugh at me I’d fear.

No time, no time, too much to do,
That was my constant cry,
No time to give to souls in need
But at last the time, the time to die.

I went before the Lord,
I came, I stood with downcast eyes.
For in his hands God held a book;
It was the book of life.

God looked into his book and said
Your name I cannot find.
I once was going to write it down…
But never found the time.

http://blog.al-habib.info/poem-no-time-to-pray/

This poem was conversion to Muslim version. Some comments said it was originally from Christian version and recently i was reminded by brother from Christian about the author this poem. Because the ethics in writing and cite, I include author and the poem in the Christian version. Thank You.

I knelt to pray but not for long,
I had too much to do.
I had to hurry and get to work
For bills would soon be due.

So I knelt and said a hurried prayer,
And jumped up off my knees.
My Christian duty was now done
My soul could rest at ease.

All day long I had no time
To spread a word of cheer.
No time to speak of Christ to friends,
They’d laugh at me I’d fear.

No time, no time, too much to do,
That was my constant cry,
No time to give to souls in need
But at last the time, the time to die.

I went before the Lord,
I came, I stood with downcast eyes.
For in his hands God held a book;
It was the book of life.

God looked into his book and said
Your name I cannot find.
I once was going to write it down…
But never found the time.

Author : John Bergeson (vineliterature@live.com)

 

7 thoughts on “Poem: No Time to Pray

  1. Did Fatma Muslima write this poem? Is there a copyright on it? It is a lot like a poem I wrote in 2002. This poem looks like a Muslim version of my Christian poem. I have a copyright on my poem.

    1. Thank for remind me about this poem. Actually, i copied this poem from Alhabib Islamic Web Service. You might confirm to Alhabib Blog or Fatma Muslima if your poem is published on that blog without asking you first for copyright.

      if you dont min’d, may i see your poem in Christian version adn what book this poem was published?

      there is no problem for me to publish in my blog about The Author and from what book this poem was taken.
      please let me know.

      Thank You.

  2. I first submitted my poem to a small magazine in 2002. I posted it on some websites four years later. I published it in a book of my collection of poems last year. So my poem has been circulating all over for a while now. I don’t think there is anything wrong with anybody using it and making changes to it to fit their purpose. I just get concerned with the possbility of people seeing the other versions before seeing mine and thinking I copied somebody. The easiest way to find my poem is probably to go on Facebook and search for the book Vined Collection. On the Vined Collection page, some of the poems are shown and this one is one of them.

    1. John, I am sorry. i have not founded your poem when i was surfing on internet. have u confirmed to Alhabib’s blog about your poem? may u can find more information in that blog.

  3. I’m sorry but this is definitely a Christian poem that has been altered. I have found it in a lot of other places as a Christian poem. The different passages are ” my Christian duty was now done”, and “no time to speak of Christ to friends”, I apologise if the original poem was Muslim but I have seen it more times as Christian and it makes slightly more sense poetically. To find the Christian version just type in ‘no time to pray Christian’ it often is author unknown and there are a lot of other poems with the same name but it is there. It doesn’t really matter, I mean it is just a poem, but I thought I would point this out.

Leave a Reply

